I’ve been saying that I’ll write this post for ages now. But I’m finally doing it! The truth is uni has been pretty hectic over the past month. I’ve had deadline after deadline, one a week. And to say I’ve been stressed would be an understatement. Sadly, as a result, my fitness and diet took a bit of a back seat.

I am definitely a comfort eater and so I ate a lot of rubbish, my go-to being a Tesco meal deal and a huge bag of frazzles, all to myself.  The gym became less of a priority too as I was up all night writing essays then sleeping for most of the day. This left me without the time or motivation to get in a workout. So it’s safe to say that my weight loss took a bit of a pause. Weirdly I didn’t actually put much weight on, which just goes to show I guess, that the myth that eating badly for a bit will set you back to square one, is a load of rubbish. If you eat well and workout the majority of the time, your body will become used to this, so having a bit of time off will not make you immediately put the pounds back on. Sure it will probably make you bloat up again for a bit because of the extra sugar you’ve been consuming, but when you go back to eating healthily again, this should quickly return to normal.

Anyway, now that I’m on Easter break and have no immediate deadlines, my days are a bit more my own. I am not as stressed, so have stopped with the comfort eating and resumed trying to be as healthy as I can. In order to try and reboot my metabolism and return my eating to normal, I decided to look into a couple of ‘fad’ type diet tips. Now, I’m completely against these fad diets as a long-term way to lose weight, because they don’t work as a sustainable lifestyle. But I was curious to see if any of them could help me in the short-term to adjust my eating habits back to how they’d been before my month-long binge. I also wanted to see if they could speed up the process of reducing the bloat I’d built up during this period.

I stumbled across an article on facebook, written by a girl who had tried Beyonce’s ‘lemonade diet’. This involves only drinking a concoction of water mixed with lemon juice, honey, and cayenne pepper.  Like me, this girl didn’t want to use this as a long-term solution for weight loss. She’d been on holiday and ‘over-indulged’ (no such thing on holiday!), causing her to bloat up around her middle. She tried the diet for three days, with the hope of getting her tummy back to how it had been before the holiday. For her, it really seemed to work! So I thought I’d give it a go, with a bit of variation anyway. I didn’t have any cayenne pepper so instead, I used turmeric (a spice claimed to have amazing health benefits by many). I also didn’t completely abstain from eating for those three days, but I didn’t eat until around 7pm, when I had my evening meal. Instead, I drank the ‘lemonade; throughout the day. I found that with drinking the lemonade I didn’t feel as hungry as I thought I would. I even managed to go to the gym and do fasted workouts, something that used to leave me feeling sick and lightheaded. I feel like whilst the lemonade diet is definitely not something you should adopt as a long-term diet plan, it really did work for me in the short-term. It reduced my tummy bloat and got my food consumption back to a more normal level after I’d completed it.

With regards to my return to the gym, I’m really trying to push myself now. I’m inspired by fitness women like Emily Skye and Kayla Itsines, who like to incorporate weights into their workouts. Emily especially, makes a point of dispelling the myth that lifting weights make women bulky. As she says, weights are actually one of the most effective ways of burning fat and slimming down. This is because in the hours after a weight session your body is continuing to burn calories as it repairs itself. Weights are great for toning up and building definition, not bulk! They aren’t going to turn you into the hulk! (haha rhyming). These days I like to start off with a short but intense burst of cardio. The cross trainer is my new favourite cardio machine. I put my headphones on and really push myself for the duration of a few songs. As long as by the end of it there is sweat running off of me, I know I’ve done all the cardio I need to. I then hit the weights.

I am going to do a post later on, dedicated to the sort of weights I do, as well as the other things I get up to in the gym. I just wanted to do this post to catch you up on what I’ve been up to since I last posted! X

